Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Frequently asked questions about the election process are answered below.

Q:  Who can vote in this election?

A:  Any Ontario physician who is a member of the Canadian Medical Association is eligible to vote.

Q:  Why can only Ontario physicians vote if this is a national association?

A:  The Presidency of CMA rotates around the country in four zones:  Quebec, Ontario, East, West.  The  President-elect is nominated from their home province via a local election, but the province’s selection is then ratified at the larger CMA General Council in August.  The Council represents the entire country.

Q:  When is the election date?

A:  Voting occurs electronically over a three-week period from February 15, 2018 – March 7, 2018.  Members will be sent voting packages for participation.  The winner will be announced March 8th.

Q:  How many people are running?

A:  There are four candidates: myself, Dr. Atul Kapur (Ottawa), Dr. Mamta Gautam (Ottawa) and Dr. Sandy Buchman (Toronto).